Puppy’s first night

Puppy slept through the first night in a crate next to my bed. A few sessions of whining/crying but nothing at all like Amelia’s 8-hour screamfest on her first night with me. Amelia was on the bed and hovered over the pup’s crate a few times. Joey spent the night in a dog bed across the room. He’s still sulking.

Woke up, put Amelia in her crate and puppy in the ex-pen in the kitchen. He pottied in the litter (thank you Toni, thank you thank you) and is now wandering around, finding toys, harassing the older dogs and generally exploring. Now he’s sitting on my lap and being all brindle and cute!

He’s more interested in the other dogs than he is in me. He’s played with me a few times, but mostly he hangs artound Amelia’s crate. Her growls don’t seem to disturb him at all, he makes very appropriate signals at her, and I think it’s going to work out. I just don’t want her to flatten him and scare him. So far so good. He seems to be a very confident puppy.

I did notice he was much more tentative on the carpet than on the linoleum, guess it’s a new experience for him. But he adapted very quickly. That’s the problem with an apartment, there’s carpeting everywhere. And he’s much more likely to cry and yell in the ex-pen than in the crate. Oh well, I’ve got a week to get him used to it before I have to go back to work and leave him in it all day.

This afternoon he’ll come to freestyle with us and get to meet some new people and dogs. Photos tonight!

One Response to “Puppy’s first night”

  1. Michele Duppins Says:

    THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING YOUR PUPPY PICTURES WITH ME – I KNOW HE WILL BRING YOU MUCH JOY AS MY DOGS DO FOR ME…
    THANKS AGAIN, MICHELE

Leave a Reply

